Students select SGA Leaders

As the SGA transitions to new administration, students voted for new SGA and class officers for the 2019-20 school year. After vigorous campaigning, from posters to Italian ices, Anthony Blunt ’20 emerged as SGA president.

Dean of Students Catherine Edwards, Director of Admissions Stacy Springer, and Assistant Director Virginia Rinker have taken over running school government. Rinker said, “I like these new group of students, they’re good students and I have a feeling they’ll do well in office.”

In addition to the new officers, Edwards is making changes to the class moderator structure, with one remaining with each class, on a four-year rotation, while the other will be assigned to a specific grade. The intent is for the moderators to help train the officers throughout the year.

SGA Executive Board

President: Anthony Blunt

Vice President: Nya Moore

Secretary: Nhaikiyia Smith

Treasurer: Tahlia Stangherlin-Brown

Senior Class Officers

President: Yasmeen Whitaker

Vice President: Tyniah Dates

Secretary: Chi Chi Okigbo

Treasurer: India Harsley

Senior Class Rep: Paige Dixon

Junior Class Officers

President: Francis Otoo

Vice President: Laila Whitaker

Secretary: Kiersten Stewart

Treasurer: Landamun Kaspa

Junior Class Rep.: Damon Hawkins

Sophomore Class Officers

President: Anna Paige Lancaster

Vice president: Ariel Wise

Secretary: Chiso Obichere

Treasurer: Tommy Bello